Chartered Institute of Public Relations

The Douglas Smith Student Award

Douglas SmithCIPR International is launching a competition with a £1,000 prize for the top student, or group of students, who submit the best public relations campaign. The campaign is based around a fictitious company that wants to launch genetically modified rice in countries with less than ideal rainfall (see brief (Word format) and entry form (Word format). You have the choice of supporting or opposing its introduction.

We created the award to celebrate the memory of Douglas Smith, a founder and patron of CIPR International. He was a great supporter of young talent and this award is CIPR International's way of honouring him and encouraging the next generation to think internationally.

A judging panel of top PR practitioners including Prof. Anne Gregory, chair of the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management and Stephen Waddington, President of the CIPR, will choose the ultimate winner from the top six entries.

The deadline for entries is 14 April 2014. The winner will be announced at the CIPR AGM on 12 June 2014.

Why should you enter?

Entering the competition will demonstrate to prospective employers your commitment to your profession. It's an ideal opportunity to showcase your understanding of PR and to show prospective employers that you are willing to go the extra mile.

We will publicise the winner(s) in our newsletter and other member communications to around 1,000 members worldwide. If you have any questions about the application process, please email the organiser, Pamela Mounter FCIPR: