The CIPR PRide Awards are taking a break in 2024 while we complete a review of the scheme.


A team of more than 60 experienced PR professionals will judge the PRide Awards entries in the judging process.

Each region and nation have a judging team and they judge a different region or nation from the UK. Each team reviews all the entries and decides on the shortlist, then gold and silver winners. The Outstanding Young Communicator award is the only category to be judged within the region or nation the entrant works. There is a panel of three judges. Two from the PR industry and one judge with an external perspective. The panel is an opportunity for the judges to learn more about the candidate. The team awards are judged by judges with no affiliation to a region or nation. They are mostly based in London. These awards are judged separately from the other categories.

All judges sign a confidentiality agreement before judging commences and a replacement judge is sourced if any conflicts of interest arise.

Name Job Title Organisation
Becky Allen  Communications Manager Lincolnshire Partnership NHS
Foundation Trust
Stuart Baird 
BakerBaird Communications
Jonathan Bargh External Communications Manager
Northumbrian Water
Sarah Black Founder
Athru Communications
Nicola Bothwell  Chartered Consultant
NB Chartered Communications 
Tony Bradley CEO
Amanda Bunn Head of Brand & Partnerships
Luminous PR
Vicki Caddy
Head of Comms
William Church
William Church Consulting
Janine Claber Director
Marick Communications
Thomas Cook Corporate Affairs Manager
Maud Davis
Maud Davis PR
Merete Donlon
Senior Internal Communications Manager HSBC
Mark Dorey
Assistant Director of Communications and Engagement
The University of Leeds
Leah Elston-Thompson
Account Director
Stone Junction
Alison Falls
Senior Communications Manager
Danske Bank
Niall Fields
Client Manager
Brown O’Connor Communications
Michelle Flanagan
Client Manager
Rumour Mill Communications
Susan Fletcher
Communications Consultant
Contented Communications
Tricia Fox
Cunningly Good Group
Neil Gibson
Communications and Media Partner
University of South Wales
Stuart Gill
Head of Global Media Relations
Lorna Gozzard
Director of Marketing
Royal College of Art
Leigh Greenwood
Managing Director
Evergreen PR
Laurel Hetherington Lecturer
Newcastle University
Alexandra Heybourne
Matt Hicks
Strategy Director
Lesniak Swann
Caroline Hodges
Account Director
Golley Slater
Julie Hollings
Director of Communications & Engagement
East of England Ambulance Service
Laurian Hubbard
Head of Engagement
Welsh Government
Nicole Kenny
Regional Development and Engagement Manager
Ardi Kolah
Doctorate Researcher Queen’s University Belfast
Huw Lewis 
Customer Services Director
Jason Madeley
Managing Director
Hatch Communications Ltd
Jade Mansell
Senior Client Services Director
Laura Mashiter
MD Refresh
Andrew McAnallen
Campaigns & Influencing Consultant
Arlene McPhillips
Head of Marketing
Controlled Schools Support Council
Theresa Merrick
Director of Communications and Marketing
The University of Edinburgh
Kath Middleditch
Head of Media Relations
Cranfield University
Claire Monks
Head of Strategic Communications
Macmillan Cancer Support
Jonny Morgan
Head of External Communications
Electricity North West
Claire Munro
Communications Manager
Zero Waste Scotland
Katrine Pearson
Managing director
3x1 Group
Natalie Povey 
PR & Communications Manager
Cheltenham Borough Homes
Anna Rainbow
Springback PR 
Alastair Ross
Head of Public Policy
Association of British Insurers
Richard Salkeld
Head of Media
Caroline Sanger-Davies
Experience Marketing
Kirsty Scott
Joint Managing Director
Harris Creative (James
Harris Associates Ltd)
Nafisa Shafiq
Internal Communications Lead
Yorkshire Housing
David Tarbuck
Group Marketing & Communications Director
Andrew Taylor
EAT PR & Marketing 
Gary Taylor
Press and Communications Officer
South Yorkshire Mayoral
Combined Authority
Grant Thoms
University of Stirling
Alison Tobin
Research Communications Manager
Cardiff University
Sarah Townsend 
Managing Director 
McKenna Townsend
Adam Tuckwell
Kevin Turner
Policy and Stakeholder Relations Manager Sanctuary 
Jess Volpe
Senior Account Manager
Karol Marketing
Ima Von Wenden
PR Now
Beverley Walkden
Steele Public Relations Limited
Andy West
West of Centre
Kathie Wilcox
Communications Consultant
Kathie Wilcox Communications
Helen Wild
Managing Director
Sarah Williams
Head of Business and Law
Buckinghamshire New University
Jon Winter
Asst Director Comms
NHS - Transformation Partners in
Health and Care

Chairs of judges

The role of the Chairs of Judges is to preside over the judging team to resolve any disputes, questions or differences of opinion that arise during the judging process.

Click below to read more about the Chairs for 2023

Find out more

Back to top