The Douglas Smith Student Award

The Douglas Smith Student Award was created in memory of Douglas Smith, founder and patron of CIPR International and a great supporter of such talent. It aims to encourage the next generation of PR practitioners to think internationally and creatively and is awarded to students who demonstrate aptitude in communications and an understanding of global PR.


The 2017 Douglas Smith Award is now open for entries to all students on BA and MA Public Relations courses on UK universities.

The subject for this year's award is "PR for an international merger". You can find the brief and the information on how to apply here.

Deadline for entries is on Noon 21 April 2017


Entry for The Douglas Smith Award for 2016 is now closed and currently being judged by our panel of senior practitioners and academics. Meet the judges.

All students on CIPR courses are eligible. For more on CIPR student membership please see our web page on grades. For a list of CIPR accredited courses please see the list on the website.


Lauren Old, Hannah Lennox and Arianne Williams won the Douglas Smith Award in 2015.

View news release

Three winners Douglas Smith Award 2015
Left to right: Arianne Williams, Lauren Old, Hannah Lennox


Jeremy Dickey won the Douglas Smith Award in 2014.

View news release